Open Britain logo
You have visited:

Newby Bridge Country Caravan Park

  • VisitEngland 5 Star Holiday Park
  • Member of Cumbria Tourism
  • Self-assessed Accessibility Information

Holiday Park with 8 units £265-£680 pupw sleeps 4



015395 31030


Canny Hill,
Newby Bridge,
LA12 8NF

Children welcomeRadioTelevisionIroning facilitiesPrivate parkingLaundry facilitiesFreezerMicrowave cookerLinen providedLinen for hireFishingPony trekking/horse-ridingGolf available (onsite or nearby)Children's outdoor play areaCleaning serviceVisa/Mastercard/Switch acceptedDogs/pets accepted by arrangementWiFi or internet accessDVD playerSingle sex groups NOT acceptedHigh chairs availableCots availableDrying facilitiesWashing machine

Children welcome from any age.


    Family with Young Children Rachael
    Oldham, United Kingdom
    19 April 2017
    Rated as 3 out of 5

    “Nice caravan park, facilities average”

    Due to an error on our booking site we actually got our stay at a much cheaper rate, which we were pleased about.
    Lodge itself was nice, we stayed in Fellside Lodge, however felt it was very dated and needs modernising. We were told this had been recently refurbished although by that looks of things it was just new furniture that was added.
    Cream carpets throughout the living and dining room, not practical at all and felt very on edge all stay, especially seeing as they took at £120 housekeeping my bond when we arrived, which we were not informed about.
    Very dated Pink carpets in the bedrooms and ensuite shower rooms need completely modernising but showers did work fine.
    Kitchen facilities standard although again oven was very old and rather poor.
    The lodge itself was large and living room particularly very big,, although we felt the layout of the lodge was odd, dining room was very far away from kitchen you had to walk through the living room to get there.
    Was plenty of space in the living room for the dining table we felt and that extra room could be converted into a bedroom to make it 3 bedroom lodge instead.
    Site advertised laundry facilities, although when we got there, there was a note on the laundry room door to say it was only for the caravan owners and not rentals!
    Small little park area for children to play which is as nice and clean.
    Rather unfortunately we were met with hostility from the owner of the static next to our lodge when we arrived because she though we were going to use her parking space! We were not, and it made for a rather unpleasant arrival, hostility remained throughout our stay whenever children played out on the front the owner of the static next door felt the need to stand there for cross armed watching them disapprovingly, which made them and me to rather uncomfortable!
    They were not being noisy or naughty just riding on their scooters.

    All in all nice caravan park and location but if we would have paid full price for the lodge I would not have been happy especially seeing that the new statics are very modern and much better equipped.
    Service at reception very pleasant and efficient. Overall we had a nice holiday and location very near to Windermere.

    Reply from Newby Bridge Country Caravan Park at 21 Apr 2017

    We are extremely sorry to hear your stay has not met your expectations. We do strive to make all our visitors experience as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. In response to your constructive criticism we do our very best to provide quality accommodation for all our guests. We are in the process of fully modernising our lodges but feel the facilities at present for 3* accommodation are more than adequate given the price of the lodge and time of year. The cooker has a new gas hob and the oven, although not brand new, is clean and in good working order as are the showers therefore we do not feel it necessary to replace them at this time. With regards to the housekeeping bond, all our guests are informed of this during the booking process and it is in Newby Bridge Caravan Park’s terms and conditions. We do advise all our guests read this prior to arrival to avoid these kind of misunderstandings. The reason for the housekeeping bond is to cover breakages and damage to furniture. We are very sorry that you felt on edge during your stay. We explain to all our new arrivals of the facilities available including the laundry and the sign you mention is merely to deter the neighbouring park from using them and did not state that it wasn’t for the use of our guests. We are very sad to hear you were met with such hostility by the owner of the static next to you, this should not have happened and is not acceptable. We can only apologise on their behalf and this will be addressed accordingly. We did approach you on a number of occasions asking if everything was ok with your stay and each time your response was that everything was fine. Had you on those occasions informed us of the issues you have listed in your review we would have been able to act upon them immediately in order to improve your experience with us. We dearly hope this has not deterred you in any way from staying with us again in the future. Kind regards Chris Eyre Manager

    Rated as 4 out of 5 Rated as 4 out of 5 Rated as 2 out of 5 Rated as 4 out of 5 Rated as 2 out of 5
    Report abuse: Contact


    • Children welcomeChildren welcome
    • RadioRadio
    • TelevisionTelevision
    • Ironing facilitiesIroning facilities
    • Private parkingPrivate parking
    • Laundry facilitiesLaundry facilities
    • FreezerFreezer
    • Microwave cookerMicrowave cooker
    • Linen providedLinen provided
    • Linen for hireLinen for hire
    • FishingFishing
    • Pony trekking/horse-ridingPony trekking/horse-riding
    • Golf available (onsite or nearby)Golf available (onsite or nearby)
    • Children's outdoor play areaChildren's outdoor play area
    • Cleaning serviceCleaning service
    • Visa/Mastercard/Switch acceptedVisa/Mastercard/Switch accepted
    • Dogs/pets accepted by arrangementDogs/pets accepted by arrangement
    • WiFi or internet accessWiFi or internet access
    • DVD playerDVD player
    • Single sex groups NOT acceptedSingle sex groups NOT accepted
    • High chairs availableHigh chairs available
    • Cots availableCots available
    • Drying facilitiesDrying facilities
    • Washing machineWashing machine

    Children welcome from any age.

    Self-Assessed Accessibility Details


    • Parking for Single unit properties:
      • YesParking space provided
      • YesWithin 50 metres approx. of entrance


    • Level access (no steps/thresholds) or access by ramp or lift to:
      • YesToilet and bathroom
      • YesOne or more bedrooms
      • YesLounge
      • YesKitchen
      • YesDining room
    • YesGood contrast between the floor and walls


    • YesCall system with vibrating pads
    • YesCall system with flashing lights


    • YesSteps to the main entrance:
      • 3
        Number of steps to entrance
      • YesHandrail by steps
    • YesEntrance is well lit

    Bed/ Bathrooms

    • Bathrooms available with:
      • YesSeparate shower unit
      • YesBath
      • YesWet room
    • YesSeparate shower unit with support handrails available
    • YesSeparate shower unit with fixed shower seat or shower chair available
    • YesBath with support handrails available
    • YesW.C. fitted with handrails available
    • YesBathrooms available that have been specially adapted for wheelchair user

    Text size:

    A A A
    Regional Map Southern England South West East Anglia Heart of England Wales Northern England Scotland

    Return to Page Navigation

    You are accepting third-party cookies. powered by NVG