Refine your search

Type of Property


Visit Date






Or Property Name


Wetheral Cottages

  • VisitEngland 4 Star Self-catering
  • Self-assessed Accessibility Information

Self-catering with 5 units £335-£825 pupw sleeps 3-6



01768 898779


Great Salkeld,
CA11 9NA

Children welcomeRadioTelevisionIroning facilitiesPrivate parkingGardenDogs/pets NOT acceptedCentral heatingLaundry facilitiesMicrowave cookerLinen providedFishingGolf available (onsite or nearby)Children's outdoor play areaWiFi or internet accessLeisure club (onsite or nearby)DVD playerCD playerEuros acceptedSingle sex groups NOT acceptedHairdryerHigh chairs availableCots availableReal log/coal firesBarbecueDrying facilities

Electric shaver points. Children welcome from any age.


    Group Mrs A H
    Staffordshire, United Kingdom
    16 August 2017
    Rated as 3 out of 5

    “Few Hiccups at First but overall enjoyable stay”

    Had to clean cottage for 2 hours upon arrival as staff had not completed the cleaning, not hoovered up anywhere or cleaned/mopped the kitchen floor, there was that much cereal debris left on the floor, also dining room chairs were dirty and the settees needed hovering too. Full bin bag left inside the cottage. The electricity in the kitchen/dining, living room and the shower upstairs for the last 3 nights kept tripping out and would not come back on until the following morning. We did not have all the lights on or appliances, so there must be a fault somewhere. If the cottage had been cleaned properly I would have rated this cottage as good but upon first impressions it did put me off. You could not go out of the door from the lounge upto the outside steps as there were damp leaves about 6/8 inches deep so it would be dangerous to step out and the wooden seating up the steps was all broken so there was no seating area. The bathrooms and bedding had all been changed and were very clean. The location and facilities within the cottage are good and we did enjoy our stay once we had cleaned it ourselves.

    Reply from Wetheral Cottages at 18 Aug 2017

    I am sorry to hear about the mess that you encountered when you arrived at the cottage. The current caretakers / cleaners have ended the contract on the 9th of August and are in the middle of moving out of Wetheral Cottage, your cottage was the last cottage that they had to clean before the new contractors took over on the 9th August. They charged us the full amount for cleaning the cottage but did not tell us that you had checked in with the cottage in an unsatisfactory condition. We have subsequently paid them for cleaning the cottage before receiving this review from you. Prior to them quitting they had done a good job and the new contractors have a very good reputation. If you read the reviews of other customers you will see that we have a very good reputation for cleanliness and can assure you that if you visit us again you will not have the same problem.

    Rated as 1 out of 5 Rated as 1 out of 5 Rated as 3 out of 5 Rated as 4 out of 5 Rated as 3 out of 5
    Report abuse: Contact


    • Children welcomeChildren welcome
    • RadioRadio
    • TelevisionTelevision
    • Ironing facilitiesIroning facilities
    • Private parkingPrivate parking
    • GardenGarden
    • Dogs/pets NOT acceptedDogs/pets NOT accepted
    • Central heatingCentral heating
    • Laundry facilitiesLaundry facilities
    • Microwave cookerMicrowave cooker
    • Linen providedLinen provided
    • FishingFishing
    • Golf available (onsite or nearby)Golf available (onsite or nearby)
    • Children's outdoor play areaChildren's outdoor play area
    • WiFi or internet accessWiFi or internet access
    • Leisure club (onsite or nearby)Leisure club (onsite or nearby)
    • DVD playerDVD player
    • CD playerCD player
    • Euros acceptedEuros accepted
    • Single sex groups NOT acceptedSingle sex groups NOT accepted
    • HairdryerHairdryer
    • High chairs availableHigh chairs available
    • Cots availableCots available
    • Real log/coal firesReal log/coal fires
    • BarbecueBarbecue
    • Drying facilitiesDrying facilities

    Electric shaver points. Children welcome from any age.

    Self-Assessed Accessibility Details


    • Parking for Single unit properties:
      • YesParking space provided
      • YesWithin 50 metres approx. of entrance
    • Parking for Multiple unit properties:
      • YesDrop-off point for guests outside entrance
    • Surface of the car park and pathway leading to entrance:
      • YesGravel
    • Route from the parking area to the entrance:
      • YesSteps and no ramp


    • Level access (no steps/thresholds) or access by ramp or lift to:
      • YesToilet and bathroom
      • YesOne or more bedrooms
      • YesLounge
      • YesKitchen
      • YesOutdoor facilities
    • stable garden and paddock but paddock has banks.

    • YesGood contrast between the floor and walls


    • YesGuest information available in large print (14pt and over)


    • YesSteps to the main entrance:
    • YesEntrance is well lit

    Bed/ Bathrooms

    • YesBedroom furniture can be re-arranged if requested by guest
    • YesBedrooms available with non-allergic bedding (ie non-feather pillows)
    • Bathrooms available with:
      • YesSeparate shower unit
      • YesBath with shower
      • YesBath
    • YesSeparate shower unit with fixed shower seat or shower chair available


    These notes do not consitute any part of the Booking Contract and are only general comments, full details of each cottage and its suitability to your requirements, are available by contacting us on 01768 898779.